RUNOFFS: STL win slips Steyn an excellent sweep

A lightweight rain greeted the 38-car Super Touring Light area as they headed on track early Saturday afternoon for his or her Hagerty Race Day occasion throughout the 58th SCCA National Championship Runoffs race round Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 15-turn, 2.592-mile highway course.

Danny Steyn, who was the Tire Rack Pole Award winner, was swamped because the inexperienced flag flew to start out what was an 18-lap race over 40 minutes. Defending STL National Champion Joe Moser of Wilmette, Illinois, took the lead into Turn 1 driving the No. 36 King Motorsports/Hoosier/Carbotech Honda CRX Si, adopted by the No. 74 Honda Civic of Jimmy Llibre. However, the No. 9 OPM Autosports/Rossini Racing/G-Loc Mazda MX-5 of Steyn dashed again up and resumed the lead by Turn 6. But, Llibre fought again on the finish of the again straight and regained the lead in Turn 7.

Flip-flopping on the entrance settled down by the second lap, at which level Steyn constructed a lead of greater than 5 seconds. But by lap 9, Moser had shaken off the competitors and was closing in on Steyn. Then in Turn 4, Moser had side-to-side contact with site visitors. While he was in a position to proceed on, the opposite driver ended up within the gravel and a full-course yellow got here out.

At the restart on lap 12 it was Steyn out entrance adopted by Moser, Max Gee, Llibre, and Greg Maloy rounding out the highest 5 positions. Even although Steyn’s earlier lead was erased throughout the yellow session, he received a powerful restart — partly as a result of there was lapped site visitors between himself and Moser when the inexperienced flag flew once more.

Steyn — who’s from Fort Lauderdale, Florida — stormed away to what grew to become a margin of victory simply barely greater than 16 seconds. That’s Steyn’s third Runoffs victory, and he’s additionally earned SCCA Super Sweep honors. Known as probably the most tough title an SCCA driver can obtain, drivers should win the Runoffs, a Hoosier Super Tour level title, and a U.S. Majors Tour Conference championship — all in the identical class in the identical season — to earn the honour.

“Normally, I like the rain. But no one has run any rain laps at Indy, and I’ve by no means run any rain laps on this automobile both. It was all an unknown,” mentioned Steyn, whose profitable automobile had bother beginning a mere quarter-hour earlier than it wanted to be on grid. “Moser began closing in the midst of the race … so I began pushing the braking zones slightly bit deeper. It very a lot was a managed race.”

After the on-track contact, Moser’s automobile didn’t carry out completely the identical. Gee, within the No. 22 Carbotech/Hoosier Honda Prelude, held on to Moser’s bumper the remainder of the race, however couldn’t fairly get the job achieved. So, Moser held on for a runner-up end, marking his sixth podium look at SCCA’s National Championship.

“I used to be battling every part on the market. Visibility was unhealthy,” Moser mentioned. “The automobile was getting fairly good after I was catching Danny. But I received slightly injury, and the automobile was toed-in after that. Then, the automobile was an actual handful.”

Just 0.907s behind Moser was third-place finisher Gee from Lucas, Ohio. This is Gee’s second Runoffs podium.

“It was slightly slippery for positive,” Gee admitted. “None of us, I don’t assume, had any thought what this monitor was like within the moist coming in. So, that actually evened every part out.”

Maloy, within the No. 38 Autosport Honda CRX, completed fourth; and Taz Harvey, driving the No. 8 Honda/Hoosier Acura Integra Type R, managed to seize the fifth ending spot after passing the No. 57 Auto Business Inc/Slim Chance Mazda MX-5 of Chuck Hines within the closing nook on the final lap. The Sunoco Hard Charger award went to Jaden Lander for beginning behind the sector and combating all the way in which as much as fifteenth place.

Live, on-line video protection of Runoffs races, introduced by Mazda, is out there all through the three days of competitors at together with an audio race name — equipped by the Super Tour Radio introduced by Hoosier Racing Tire broadcast group — and dwell timing and scoring for every National Championship race.


1, (1), Danny Steyn, Fort Lauderdale, FL, Mazda MX-5, 18.

2, (2), Joe Moser, Wilmette, IL, Honda CRX Si, 18.

3, (6), Max Gee, Lucas, OH, Honda Prelude, 18.

4, (3), Greg Maloy, Oak Park, MI, Honda CRX, 18.

5, (5), Taz Harvey, Danville, CA, Acura Integra Type R, 18.

6, (14), Chuck Hines, Cameron, NC, Mazda MX-5, 18.

7, (9), Stephen Johnson, Leawood, KS, Mazda Miata, 18.

8, (4), Jimmy Llibre, Santo Domingo, , Honda Civic, 18.

9, (17), Tom van Veen, Bellingham, WA, Honda Civic CX HB, 18.

10, (16), Amy Mills, Bellevue, WA, Mazda Miata, 18.

11, (12), Mike Taylor, Cumming, GA, Honda Civic, 18.

12, (21), Denny Stripling, McKinney, TX, Scion FR-S, 18.

13, (15), Jake Anton, Bellevue, NE, Mazda Miata, 18.

14, (13), Gonzalo Aponte, St. Cloud, FL, Honda Civic, 18.

15, (44), Jaden Lander, New York, NY, Mazda MX-5, 18.

16, (20), Christopher Childs, Purcellville, VA, Mazda Miata, 18.

17, (10), Nathan Pope, Fremont, CA, Honda Prelude, 18.

18, (11), Joe Smith, Wakarusa, KS, Mazda Miata, 18.

19, (28), William Snyder, Southlake, TX, Mazda MX-5 Spec NC, 18.

20, (23), Sean Duncan, Kalamazoo, MI, Honda Civic VX, 18.

21, (19), Scott Bettinger, Haysville, KS, Mazda Miata, 18.

22, (31), Alan Stubblefield, Tomball, TX, Mazda Miata, 18.

23, (36), Marshall Stocker, Hanover, MA, Mazda Miata, 18.

24, (32), Dan Harding, Dover, OH, Mazda Miata, 18.

25, (24), Hugh McHaffie, Boca Raton, FL, Mazda MX-5, 18.

26, (22), Thomas Lamb, Kalamazoo, MI, Honda CRX Si STL, 17.

27, (35), Edward Eckart, Geneva, OH, Mazda Miata, 17.

28, (42), Nicholas Olivier, Portland, OR, Mazda Miata, 17.

29, (41), Maxwell Kittleson, Brookfield, WI, Ford Focus SVT, 16.

30, (38), David LeCren, Ramona, CA, Mazda RX-8, 16.

31, (29), Stephen Jeu, Houston, TX, Honda Civic, 16.

32, (40), Tim DeRonne, Beverly Hills, MI, Pontiac Solstice, 16.

33, (25), Pedro Colon, San Juan, PR, Acura Integra, 14.

34, (26), Austin Hilliard, Greenville, SC, Honda S2000, 12.

DNF, (39), David McPherson, Ravenel, SC, Mazda Miata, 7.

DNF, (18), Ken Haughwout, Canton, GA, Honda Civic HB, 6.

DNF, (8), William Knight, Tulsa, OK, Mazda MX-5, 2.

DNF, (7), David Palfenier, Miami, FL, Mazda MX-5 RF, 0.

DNS, (27), David Zink, Corona, CA, Mazda RX-8, 0.

DNS, (30), Kristina Etherington, Henderson, NV, Mazda RX-8, 0.

DNS, (33), Peter Davis, Dallas, TX, Acura Integra, 0.

DNS, (34), William Keeling, Houston, TX, Mazda Miata, 0.

DNS, (37), Whitfield Gregg, Bellevue, WA, Mazda Miata, 0.

DNS, (43), Daniel Schaut, Wausau, WI, Mazda Miata, 0.

Race Stats
Length of Race: 47 Miles
Overall Time of Race: 40:17.526 (avg. 69.477 mph)
Margin of Victory: 16.781 seconds
Fastest Race Lap: 2:02.711 (76.042 mph)
Lap Leaders: #74-lap 1, #9-laps 2-18
Sunoco Hard Charger: #04 Jaden Lander

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button